#Day40 #365JosHappyDays – Made it on the plane by the skin of my teeth!

image

Well if you ever get to the airport really early and need to kill a few hours; The adrenaline of sorting out a little dilemma like when the staff tell you, you are not aloud on the flight sure makes the time fly!

The problem was I didn’t have an onward ticket out of Malaysia which I was fairly condifident Malaysia wouldn’t care about (and I was right they didn’t care). Japan however and the Air Asia check in desk were very adimant I wasn’t getting on that flight unless I brought a ticket right there and then or I had £350 in cash (to prove I could buy one on arrival).

This might be alright for the average traveler but I’m a cheap backpacker that made sure I spent every last cent of my Japanese yen in duty free on some magic pens and the rest in the charity box. I’m pretty stubborn when it comes to being stung with airport cashpoints with and currency exchanges so that was not part of the deal for me.
After some running around and talking to some managers and hearing many more times that “you won’t be on this flight sir” we finally got to a solution. When I ultimately I found out they would expect any currency and best of all hadn’t a clue of any exchange rates (so I got to make them up.. In my favour!)
Luckily I had tiny bits of cash prepared for other countries I was heading for (only really enough for some snacks on arrival haha)

So in the end I got by with 50 pounds, 200 Malaysian ringgit, 40 Australian dollars, 700 Thai baht, 250 Indian rupees and a signed document that’s it’s not the airports fault for letting me fly haha.
Comes to a total of about £120 but shhh 🙂

I was definitely relieved once I got on that plane! Note to everyone bring cash or an onward ticket to any country you go to.  Travel safe!

Categories: #365JosHappyDays, Advice, Japan, Malaysia | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “#Day40 #365JosHappyDays – Made it on the plane by the skin of my teeth!

  1. That’s very cheeky! But a lesson learnt by all! Glad you got there safely though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

